Breathing Space


When I need a “time-out” from the stresses of every day, my mind goes to one place.

When I do my daily meditation I focus on a place.

When I am getting my blood pressure checked (I detest the squeezing on my arm), I close my eyes, and breathe slowly and deeply and put myself in a beach chair, a slightly wet bathing suit on,  as I imagine I’ve just come up from the water and plopped down in the wooden chair with a cool drink in my hand.

Or I alter this scenario slightly and the sun is setting, I am sitting in a beach chair with the wind blowing, a chill in the air, and a big fire going…..barefoot, jeans, and a sweatshirt, and a bottle of wine.  I can sit out there for hours, talking with someone and listening to the waves.  It is amazingly relaxing, the ocean.  I can sit and stare at it for hours and hours.

 

 

 

North Myrtle Beach, Windy Hill, Cherry Grove, away from the craziness that is Myrtle Beach.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is amazing how a place can conjure up smells, sounds, tastes, and an overall feeling of contentment.  I’m headed there soon for a week of golf, lounging, reading, and walking/running on the beach.  October and November is perfect.  

One thought on “Breathing Space

Leave a Reply

