Hidden Talents, Learning to Shine My Light & Identify Emotional Blindspots


Sunday was a rather normal day, I slept until 8:30 got up and made it in time for 10:00 a.m. Mass.  (Note to self, avoid 10:00 a.m. Mass.  Too much singing and ceremony).  I then went to a fabric store because in my unpacking I found a huge box of gorgeous fabric that accumulated between me and my Mom.   I know how to sew and tailor thanks to my mother.  I can pick out an outfit from a fashion magazine or online at Bergdorf Goodman or Sak’s Fifth Avenue or Nordstroms, the then go buy a Vogue pattern by the same designer and I can make it.   I haven’t done it in a long while what with the fire and the surgery and work and a hundred other things.  After opening that box and feeling the material I knew that I wanted that Donna Karan dress that would cost me $2500 at Neiman Marcus.  It will cost me, by constructing it myself, about $100.

As I returned from Hancocks with four patterns a friend told me I had many talents.  I suggested that most of them lie hidden.  That is what I started thinking about this morning.  How many of my talents show and how many are hidden?  I don’t consider myself extremely talented in any area.  I’m good at crafts and enjoy them, I like making things.  I’m good at dancing, heck, I’m great at dancing.  I am a pretty decent cook.  I know how to put together an outfit for myself and others.  But I really don’t recognize other “talents”.

Then I started thinking about my emotional blindspots.  Most of us have aspects of our personalities that are obvious to everyone but ourselves.  What about me? Do I have blind spots, and if so, what are they?

Simply feeling what I feel and knowing what I know—is the very definition of awakening.   It creates a virtually indestructible foundation for lasting relationships, successful endeavors, and inner peace. Hunting down my blind spots is a bumpy adventure, but I am hoping it can lead to sublime destinations. 

 

Leave a Reply

