In the Silence, Listen.


One of the great things I have learned, and try to practice now, is to be still, be silent, and listen.  Before I didn’t…now I practice it more.  Through letting things go, letting stress, and strife, and unhappiness, and hurt go from my heart and my head I am still.

A week ago I was angry and I wrote about it and I promised to shut myself down.  Which I think I did until I spoke with a couple of friends who I trust.  I shut out the anger and just let it go.

It’s just easier to be happy.  It really is.  It is just easier to smile and be thankful for the life I have; which is a pretty great life.  I have an amazing family.  Simple.  I really do.  Not only my immediate family, but my cousins, my godmother and godfather….those I have grown up with, close family friends that are like family.  Those people that have known me before there was a me.  I am thankful.

In the silence, I now listen.  I listen and try to figure out my next steps.

In the silence I’ve found part of myself.  I have heard, silently, what has been there all along.

Be good, be kind, be strong, be compassionate, be loving, don’t take any crap, and put good things out there and you will, eventually, get them back in kind.

I am not locking my heart down from possibilities.  I will not let one bad person erase months of self-improvement.  I’m here and I’m strong and I’m ready to listen.

 

One thought on “In the Silence, Listen.

  1. I wrote this down from the movie made of Mitch Albom’s book “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” with thoughts of it being a base for a future blog. It seems to fit well right here:

    “Holding anger is a poison…It eats you from inside…We think that by hating someone we hurt them…But hatred is a curved blade…and the harm we do to others…we also do to ourselves.”

    I am proud of you. It just shows how much you are growing. Pain is part of the process just like heat is needed to cook a meal.

    You are becoming wiser Grasshopper….

Leave a Reply

