It Is Up to Me


Be Strong is my ongoing mantra for this time in my life.  It applies to all areas; physical, emotional, spiritual.

Yesterday the company kicked off the United Way Campaign with the Chili Cook-off (did I mention I won, I WON?)  Before lunch we had two representatives visit from different United Way organizations and one touched me to the point that I spoke with her after and gave her my personal contact information.  The organization is KIPP.  Knowledge Is Power Program.  It deals with educating children from high risk schools/neighborhoods to get them into college.

KIPP is a national network of tuition-free, open-enrollment, college-preparatory public schools with a track record of preparing students in underserved communities for success in college and in life.  KIPP builds a partnership among parents, students, and teachers that puts learning first. By providing outstanding educators, more time in school learning, and a strong culture of achievement, KIPP is helping all students climb the mountain to college.

I knew the minute she was speaking what I needed to do.  I needed to volunteer.  Volunteer at an early enough stage that I can make a difference in a child’s life.  Let’s face it, my nieces have a pretty good life, and I am always there to help them.  But these other kids are struggling.  If I can help a child read or run their multiplication tables with them, I have made a small difference.  I can also help them raise money.  So that is my new volunteer gig.

Be Strong can be passed along to those who need it.  If I can do it, so can they.  If I can help someone achieve and be better, be “more” then that is what I am going to do.  It IS Up to Me.

Leave a Reply

