More Acts of Kindness


Within a twelve-hour period I have had two random acts of kindness bestowed upon me.  I love it.

Last night after my workout I realized that I didn’t have enough dog food for the morning feed so I stopped by Reasor’s as my local Southern Agriculture was closed.  I bought a smaller bag if IAMS to get me through the day until I could go get the proper dog food for my super spoiled and active doggies.  I call it “the one with the wolf, the bear, and the salmon on the front”.  The guy at Southern Ag always knows what I’m talking about.  

I toted the bag of food, a small sherbet, and some Advil PM to my car, got in and backed out and I was about to put the car into Drive when a man came running at the car, to the back, and caught a cart coming at my car at full speed.  I rolled down my window and thanked him profusely.  He just smiled and waved and went on into the store.  

This morning as I went out to the car to get in I noticed my tire was flat.  A nail had punctured it.  I called AAA and they said it would be at least an hour before they could get to me.  This was at 7:30 a.m.  As I was getting ready to go back in the house, my neighbor across the street, on his way to the office, came over and asked if I needed help.  I told him I had called AAA and he said, “I can do it.  Where’s the spare?”  He went back to his house, put on some sort of coveralls’ over his dress clothes and changed my tire.

What really topped off what a great twelve hours it has been was the text message from a friend that simply stated:  Beautiful Sunrise this A.M.

Simple.  It made me smile.  It made me happy that he thought of me this morning and that he shared something so beautiful and simple.

The more I think and concentrate on the kindness around me, the happier it makes me.  I know there are negative parts of me…and I try a little more each day to push them out.

Little, by little, they go.  

Leave a Reply

