Going to Bed Hungry on Thanksgiving


No, this isn’t going to be one of those sad stories about hungry, needy families…it’s going to be the story of how I went through an entire day of Thanksgiving festivities including brunch and a big dinner at four p.m. and went to bed hungry.

This is a big hurrah for me.

Don’t get me wrong, I did eat.  I ate  a bagel and a mini fritata and had one very good bloody mary.  I fixed my plate first (it was buffet style) and took one piece of white meat, one small tablespoon each of dressing, potatoes, and sweet potatoes.  I took a tablespoon of mushrooms and carrots and one wheat roll.  I sat at the round table where I was surrounded by others and couldn’t get up for seconds.  I didn’t drink any wine…I’m not really sure why except I was still on cough medicine.  I had one sliver of pecan pie and one sliver of french silk pie.  That was a 4 p.m.  I left at 9:50 and by the time I got home, got the dogs fed, watched a little T.V. and got into bed to read, it was 10:30.  I read until midnight, put down the kindle, and my stomach growled.  I smiled, stretched, switched off the light and went to sleep.

I post this because I am proud that my life choices are working.  I have a short-term goal now of completing the Jingle Bell 5K on December 10 and stuffing myself until I’m miserable isn’t a goal.

You see other people use alcohol and drugs and shopping and gambling to mask emotions and pain.  I use food.  My changes in the past year have been life choices, not a diet.  Because quite honestly, I haven’t been dieting.  I eat very healthy, I cut out fast food and gave up the continuous feed of Pepsi.  But if I really want one, I will have one.  Let me see, I have had two this week.

What a lot of people don’t understand is that a food addiction is a double-edged sword…it feels so good to medicate with food; really bad for you food. But then you feel horrible for having stuffed it into your mouth.  What I had to learn, again, is that I enjoy eating so I enjoy cooking and now I enjoy healthy….I enjoy feeling good again, I enjoy seeing my body change….I enjoy hearing people tell me I look good.  But this is a choice for me….a life choice.

I got up Wednesday early and jogged then went to work.  By the time the family all met later Wednesday night I was a bit sore but felt good and enjoyed a very late dinner.  I know me now…I know that if I want to enjoy the good stuff, I’m going to work for it.  I’m going to continue with the trainer and at the gym and jogging in the neighborhood.

I’ve been blessed with a healthy heart and I’m not going to ruin it.  I’ve got another half of my life to live.  I plan on very good things coming my way.  I am happy!

One thought on “Going to Bed Hungry on Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

