Perfect Schmerfect


I find it funny/interesting when people try so desperately to be “perfect”.  I know for a fact, in my case, that when I try, the Universe brings me back to reality.  Sometimes I think my own guardian angel trips me just so I don’t become too cocky.

A friend told me a funny story about going out with friends and drinking and not getting home until 3 a.m. only to have to get up at 5:30 a.m. to catch a flight.  He got on the plane, and promptly fell fast asleep only to awaken with drool down the front of his shirt.  I laughed because that is something that I would do.

I read somewhere a long while ago that when you trip or stumble that you should turn to the people who saw you do it and curtsy.  I love that and it is exactly what I will do the next time.  Because there is always a next time for me.

Imperfection is what makes us interesting.  Perfect people are boring.   Besides, constantly trying to do everything perfectly is too much pressure.   That falls in line with “be careful what you wish for” and “what might have been”.

We live in communities where people feel unconquerable amounts of pressure to always appear perfectly happy, perfectly functional, and perfectly figured. “Perfection” is much different than perfectionism.  “Perfection” makes us believe that nobody else could understand what it is like to be weak and fall prey to the pressures of the world.

While it might be whimsical to dwell upon what might have been, what’s usually overlooked is that really and truly, it couldn’t have been.  Because, invariably, any romanticized versions of how things “might have been,” are based upon fictionalized versions of the past.

Prayers answered and all that stuff….praying for the help and the help comes not at all like you wanted.  But then you realize the help you received saved your ass.

The perfect body, the perfect face,  the perfect mate, the perfect love.  Perfect ain’t all it’s cracked up to be.  Difficulty, pain, and hard work, and flat-out screwing up make you appreciate what you have, what you achieve.   Perfection leaves no room for character.

There is nothing wrong with striving to be perfect….but understand that failing to achieve ultimate perfection happens….all the time.

I actually revel in my non-perfection.  I embrace it now.  Because if I don’t, and when drool runs out of my mouth while sleeping, I would be very upset instead of wiping it off my chin and smiling and saying “well that happened.”

Embrace that you have weaknesses, because everybody does. Embrace that your body is not perfect, because nobody’s is. Embrace that you have things you can’t control, we all have a list of them.

Get vulnerable. Get real.  People will embrace you for it.

Sorry G for using you as the example.   Not to worry, I could provide a long list of things I have done exactly like that including wetting my pants getting to my car at the long-term parking lot at ORD airport.

 

2 thoughts on “Perfect Schmerfect

Leave a Reply

