Spoiled Rotten


…not me of course.  I am a lot of things, but spoiled isn’t one of them.

I defy my sister to argue that statement.

I have a new co-worker that I call Cha Cha and she believes that she is always right and that all men, even gay men, hit on her.  She also refuses to do anything the company tells her to do and already has argued with a Director and been called into HR.

She has been assigned to a team to travel to the customer site in California.  She has been working at my company for three weeks.  She came over to my office this morning to complain, as she does each morning.  She complained that she had to share a rental car with other people on the team and that she had to fly at 6 a.m. Monday morning.  Oh, and she complained that she cannot take a direct flight to San Francisco.

Being a relatively nice person, and not at my ‘fed-up’ point yet, another co-worker and I asked her to lunch to guide her.  Trust me, I did not want to eat with her.  V and I are both veterans of travel to client sites and working on an implementation team.  We tried to explain that the customer wants to keep costs down by having the implementation team, flying in from the same location to the same location, share a rental car.

No no no no no.  I swear, that is how she starts every response.  We tried to nicely explain how all the travel works.  She wasn’t having any of it.  She explained that she will work 8 until 5 on a client site and that is all.  Her personal time is her’s.  Oh Lord, she just isn’t going to make it as a consultant.

On the walk back she told us how the moving men took so long because they were constantly hitting on her.  I hear this often from her.  She is so gorgeous that even gay men hit on her.  Really???!!!  That is some kind of beauty.

It made me start thinking about how destructive true selfish behavior is to someone.  Yes, I can be stubborn.  It’s a family trait.  But I am not selfish or spoiled.  Thankfully.  I don’t know that my family would allow it.

I can be pretentious…I do admit to that, but not as much as I used to be.  In fact, most of the time, I’m pretty down-to-earth.  I would never think myself beautiful and if I did, I would never tell others just how beautiful I am.  Yes, ok, I there are times I think I’m pretty.  It was difficult typing that statement!

Frankly, if you are that beautiful you know it and don’t have to tell anyone…we know it too.

I just don’t get a grown woman being that spoiled when in fact she doesn’t make a lot of money, nor does she come from a lot of money.

It reminds me of someone throwing a bottle of cologne at my sister one Christmas because she didn’t get the right size for her.

How do these people actually function in the real world?

I think Cha Cha is going to cause me to take Xanax or I might smother her with a pillow.  Ignoring her doesn’t seem to work.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spoiled Rotten

  1. Self centeredness spoils beauty and creates ugliness…. I bet the person at your work is a deeply unhappy person inside…. she is probably showing what she does to balance the contempt she really has for herself. And that is all the sadder….. A miserable person who will make everyone around her miserable…

    • I know you are right, but I also feel that her parent’s have spoiled her all her life. She is the only child.
      She is a pain in my neck and I cannot wait until she travels.

Leave a Reply

