The Dreams


There is only the meaning we give to our life; to give as much meaning to one’s life as possible seems right to me. – Anais Nin

I have dreams…not hopes, ambitions, etc., but real dreams when I sleep and they can be vivid.  Each Wednesday night I have a very emotional dream involving my family, living and dead, sometimes old loves, in some state of stress or argument.

I finally understood when I woke up this morning that what I hear in my Wednesday evening meeting….manifests itself in my dreams.

I cannot reach out and put my arms around the people speaking in the meeting even though I want to.  Last night was tough because one person was in so much pain it was pouring out of her.

I am thankful that I have released the ghost of Will.  He no longer haunts my heart.   I am happy, healthy, and improving each day.

In an era where we have our own living space, our own car, our own schedule, the idea of community seems almost antiquated. We’re left to sift through our own pain, making it very easy to believe we are alone in our suffering, which only serves to compound our pain. These days, community has been replaced with the social network. We, sitting behind our own computers, select digitally who are our own friends, and become digitally oblivious to our pain.

This is why my friends receive hand-written notes from me occasionally.  Just  a quick note to say hello and let them know I’m thinking of them.  I embrace the lost art of letter writing.

It’s time to let go, to disown what we own. Cast off the idea that our environment would rather have us deal with our own problems by ourselves in the confines of our own life. Release into a world knowing that everyone is in pain. Everyone. And that this is normal.

We can stop blaming our past, our families, and ourselves for life’s follies. It’s up to each of us to embrace our pain. Each and every one of us is alive to move through these challenges. Isn’t it interesting that those who cower from this truth find their pains return, and bigger, and often bringing “friends.” Do not push pain away. Do not curse your experience. Welcome it in and love it—for it is you.

Any pain I have experienced I have survived and I now accept and know it is part of me; will always be part of me.  

The secret: offer your heart as a vehicle to transform  suffering into joy.

Personal responsibility is about taking 100% responsibility for everything that manifests in your life. Your successes, your failures, the way others treat you, your health, your happiness, your finances, etc.

Personal responsibility is all about empowering yourself to create the life, success and happiness that you so desire. It’s about becoming solutions-focused and working with others to make the world a better place. It’s a beautiful, simple and often-overlooked principle that absolutely everyone can utilize.

Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury,pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen

One thought on “The Dreams

Leave a Reply

