Here I Sit, looking out of the window


Hello, this is a big waste of my time and the client’s money.  I’m in Kansas City, on the client site and I am sitting in a cubical in a room doing exactly what I would be doing at my office in Tulsa.   They are paying money for us to come each week (well not me, but a minimum of two consultants)  to work when we could be remote.  My contacts, you know the people I actually talk with, are out in the Production facilities in Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Missouri and other cow related places.  They have teams of consultants sitting here, flying in from all over the country and they went live a year ago!  For those of you that don’t do THIS for a living, a year live means they should have minimal on-site support.  Yet this customer has teams of consultant.

I could make a fortune consulting on downsizing consultants.

There’s this guy named Bala who sits in the cube directly behind me and he is making these grunting noises.  I’m not sure what he’s doing back there and I’m afraid to look.

And the room smells like old crayons and dirty hair.  Yep.  It does.  I promise you it isn’t coming from me and my colleague Lisa.  I showered AND have on Hermes perfume.  I’m going to have to bring the bottle with me tomorrow and spray.

This evening I’m going out for a drink with a friend who lives here but before that happens I’ve worked out in the hotel gym.   It feels good to be on the elliptical working hard….the knee isn’t hurting.  I cannot wait to pick up my new bike and hit the streets…well, at least the bike paths.

2012 is going to be my year.  I’m due for a year….I’ve been building up to an amazing year and I want it to be THIS year.

One thought on “Here I Sit, looking out of the window

Leave a Reply

