Dance Without A Partner


To be happy in spite of challenges? To laugh at problems? Dance without a partner?

I received this as part of my daily Note From The Universe this morning and this passage made me reflect. I am happy in spite of many challenges in my life.  For some strange reason I have dreams once or twice a week for the past few months that someone in my immediate family is angry with me.  This includes my parents who have been gone for years.  It is always the family members angry AT me….it’s never me being angry.  I don’t know why as I am not in conflict with anyone, especially my family.  They are very vivid and very upsetting and always wake me with a feeling of dread until I realize no-one is angry. Challenges present themselves to me and I have learned to accept them, make a plan to overcome or master the challenge, and be happy about it.

Instead of stress over problems I tend to laugh at them now, and handle them, if I can, at the time they arise.  If I have no control over a problem, I let it go.

Dance without a partner?  absolutely.  I was dancing a bit to a song in my head at lunch and am often caught dancing around by strangers wondering what in the hell is she doing in the middle of the grocery store aisle moving like that?  Dance without a partner – I do, and embrace it in the figurative sense of statement.  I have done things by myself because I wanted to do it without worrying if someone was with me.  If I want to go, I go.  I try to live my simple little life that way until there is a partner.

I was having a conversation with a friend of mine today about all qualities that ‘good’ women want.  To me, he has them.  He is street savvy, intelligent, dresses well, works hard and makes good money.  He looks like Colin Ferrell and although he isn’t a saint and does have a streak of a dark side, he is amazingly kind and unjerk-like.  He was worried that he had hurt my feelings about a trip to New Orleans and I commented that he really was kind….a “sweetheart”.  Just where are the wonderful women for a man like this?  I hear women complain they cannot meet them and I know by looking at him that he has such a presence about himself that woman might not approach him thinking he just has it all together.

Look, if I could figure out the relationship game I wouldn’t be without one or I would be fabulously wealthy.

I will tell you now that a kind heart beats all.  Lead with the kindness card and make it genuine.  

“A real man is a woman’s best friend. He will never let her down. He will comfort her after a bad day. He will inspire her to do things she never thought she could do. He will enable her to express her deepest emotions. He will motivate her to be confident, beautiful, successful, and invincible…No, wait. Sorry. I was thinking of Patron. It’s Patron that does all that. Never mind.”

Leave a Reply

