The Good Guy


Ok, today’s blog is going to be a bit of a rant.  It’s what I think.

How you live your life is your business.  True statement.

Those who live “alternative” lifestyles are respected by me and I defend your right to live your life.  Those who live small little lives like me, whether you are Christian, Jew, Buddhist, Hindu, or nothing at all also have my respect.  You give respect, you get respect.

If you know me you know that I have a small little life.  I try each and every day to respect others and sometimes I fail, but I do try.

It is funny to me that the same people who complain because people don’t respect their lifestyle, find it okay to point the judgement finger at others.

Hang on….all of this will come together.

I’m a Catholic.  I am a practicing Catholic.  Yep, and I pray.  I pray each and every day for a multitude of things.  I even say the Rosary.  Yep, old school Catholicism.  I also embrace a little Buddhism too.  I meditate each day as well.  I rattle the beads for those who need it.  Currently, the rattling of the beads goes on each night for my friend Latrice’s sister who is battling breast cancer.  I go to Mass….I’m pro-choice….I promote birth control.  I know there are people who think I’m wrong.  I don’t care.  But I don’t make fun of these

I take offense to the Tim Tebow haters.  Really?  Seriously?  Why the hate towards this boy?

He has done nothing but brought the Denver Broncos football team to playoffs.  While we forgive all the felons, and dog killers, and sexual offenders, and wife beaters, and thugs, we are busting on a guy for his charitable work, his hard work, and fearlessness on the football field because he is a Christian.

I have heard from people I know that he’s a fundamentalist Christian.  Ok, who cares?  He hits a knee when he scores a touchdown.  Ok, so do a bunch of other guys.  If he was black, you wouldn’t be hating on his beliefs.

I’m tired of the cynical, unkind words thrown at the good guys.

I work very hard to not judge.  I really do and I know that I still do.  I seriously dislike people who make fun of others.

Today I was in the grocery store and the young man sacking my groceries was very cute.  He had that tall, awkward look of a teenaged boy.  I smiled at him and admired his glasses.  They were Ray Ban’s and looked great on him.  Then the woman checking said, “if only he’d get rid of those caterpillar eyebrows.”  What an unkind thing to say.  I looked at him and said, “I think you are very cute.  How old are you?”  He was fifteen.  I started talking to him and discovered he goes to my old high school and even went to my old grade school.  The checker, being the jealous hater that she was, commented that he sure was big for only fifteen.  I told him that the girls are going to love him.  Tall girls especially.  I told him as long as he stays nice and works hard he will be ok.

Why?  What is the point in talking someone down?

Each morning I have one thing I do.  I have to give two strangers a compliment before I get to my office.  It might be something small, but I compliment people who might expect it.

I feel better now that I’ve had birthday cake with my family for my little niece’s 3rd birthday.  It made me calmer and less apt to vent.

Ease up folks.

 

Leave a Reply

