Bless Your Heart


My sister and I laugh over the Southern way of saying “Bless Your Heart” when someone does something to irritate you.  You must say it with the sweet drawl, “well bless your heart”.  It’s the Southern equivalent of F You if said with the right tone.  If said with a sincere tone, you can get away with saying anything.  “Well you’re just not that bright….bless your heart.”

I’ve felt a bit “iffy” lately.  What I mean by that is that I’m troubled by my dreams still.  I seem to have become stagnated and although I am trying new things and exploring new areas, I am not as happy as I was this summer and autumn.  The reason is unclear to me.

When a friend asked me Saturday how I was, I responded with “I’m a bit lonely”.   It was a very frank, honest response.  I could have gone with “I’m good” or “Fine”, but I chose to just tell him how I felt at that exact moment.  

Maybe I’m dreading the upcoming knee surgery even though I don’t feel worried about it at all.  Maybe I’m concerned that it will limit my workouts for a while and working out to me now helps me feel good, physically and mentally.

“If we can recognize that change and uncertainty are basic principles, we can greet the future and the transformation we are undergoing with the understanding that we do not know enough to be pessimistic.”  

I take that into consideration as well as navigating the

“I’m not afraid of storms, for I am learning how to sail my ship.”  In other words, I am learning the skills to weather any storm.  Obstacles, setbacks, and losses are a vital part of experiencing the fullness, and even sweetness, of life.  The key is not shutting down in shame or walking around wearing the brittle mask of being ‘fine’.  I’m learning to give people the gift of being able to help you.

Before when I was blue or down or angry or lonely and someone asked, I would automatically say “fine”.  But now, I have changed it.  If a friend or family memory asks I’m going to say how I am.  The same goes for them.  If you don’t tell me when I ask, how can I help you?

When I ask, “what can I do?” Tell me.  Even if it’s just something simple like listening to them vent, I will do it.

Sometimes having a good laugh or a good cry with a friend is the perfect solution.

I’m sure I will get out of my funk soon as I’m taking POSITIVE steps to make it so.

I know I’m not that excited about my job any longer and really am ready to make a career change.

Sometimes the single life isn’t all it’s chocked up to be.  The house can be too quiet.

I don’t know….just sayin’

 

Leave a Reply

