“The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak.”


I have no one to impress but myself; easy for me to say now, but it hasn’t always been this way.

There are a few things I’ve learned to make peace with:

Failure is just a feeling when I lose perspective of my goals.  I didn’t fail, I just lost a bit of perspective and now I refocus and move forward.   Sometimes they are just an unavoidable low point, no more or less important than the experiences I call successes.

Being taller than most women, I learned early to stand up straight and proud and take up as much room as I fill and be proud of it.

Knowing my strengths enables me to make use of them.

I learned to suck it up; not everyone will like me or support my ideas.

I had to take small steps to get where I wanted to go.  I couldn’t leap to the conclusion of a goal…I had to take small steps and build to what I want.

I couldn’t take nay-sayers so seriously.  People in my life that were hater’s or jealous and would tell me I couldn’t do something…I learned to laugh at them.  They are little people with no goals and are jealous of me for a strong mind and a big mouth.

I’ve learned that no matter how bad things get, they could be worse.  This one was a tough one.  I learned this from my sister.  No matter how bad things get, she always has a positive spin.  “It could be worse.”  We learned from a worrying grandmother and a worrying mother NOT to worry…to focus on a positive outcome.

I’ve learned that I can be still…that answers come when I quiet myself.

Leave a Reply

