What if….????


“Accept—then act. Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it. Always work with it, not against it…This will miraculously transform your whole life.”

My sister and I learned a long time ago that worrying did little, if any, good.  Our mother worried constantly.  It drove my sister and I nuts.

She would fret, and worry, and agonized over things she couldn’t control.

Instead of fretting about not getting everything done I realized a long time ago that everyone is busy and to concentrate on one thing, dive into it, get it done and let the worrying stop.

When I feel myself starting to worry or fret, I redirect my attention to something else.  I used to be the person that wanted to do everything on my own.  I never asked for help.  I always wanted to be perfect and asking for help meant I wasn’t.  (at least in my mind).    However, I was always available for others if they needed assistance, no matter how big or how small.

Are people who help me my crutches? heck yes.  I need them.  If I worry about needing help or asking for it, if I worry about people knowing I went to a therapist on and off since 2010, then I get myself out of that mindset.  None of us can do this alone.  Doing it alone is LONELY.

I’ve learned that I blossom when loved….and others that I love blossom when I give my love…not my worrying and not my criticism.

My mother’s constant worrying was inherited from her mother.  Luckily my sister and I didn’t inherit that gene….but perhaps another offspring did.  I wish she wouldn’t worry.  Worry teaches worry.

Worrying over appearance is one that the entire nation has gone crazy over.  It’s silly.  Basically how I look is based on my genetic makeup.  On top of that taking care of myself helps not only the way I look, but the way I feel.  I have learned a little trick.  Instead of obsessing over the way I look, I notice the beauty in others and point it out to them.  You will be amazed at how people respond…and warm to you.  Honestly, people will adore you and that is what worrying about how you look was about anyway.

When we fixate on the past, we never lay it to rest.  I cannot change my past especially by worrying about it.  I can move forward and up.  Now, I look forward, focusing on what I’ve learned from my past and moving on.  Releasing that burden is amazing.

It is what it is.  It was what it was.

I cannot help what people are saying about me.  My grandmother used to say, “if someone is talking about you they are leaving someone else alone.”  I love that.  Go ahead, talk away….I’m strong, I’m tough.  Others might not be.  It really is a waste of energy to care what others are saying.

Take a breath, and allow some of the stress and worry to leave you.  I am absolutely positive I can transform my life, improve it, by altering my thoughts.

Yesterday I wrote down my goals for this summer.  I heard once that a goal isn’t real until it is written.  I came up with a list of seven goals, printed it, and it hangs where I will see it each day.

Once a goal is reached I will mark it off and keep it hanging to show that I accomplished my goal….and move forward.

But I’m not going to worry about it.

One thought on “What if….????

  1. Mark Twain said something like “I fear I have spent fa too much of my life worrying about things that never happened”. It’s correct and so was all that you said. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

