The Italian Sandwich Shop


Today at lunch I ran over to a family owned restaurant that specializes in incredible sandwiches, soups, and salads.  The owner is Italian…not from Italy Italian, but 1st Generation.  I have no idea how he ended up in Claremore, Oklahoma.  But he did and he has a great restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch only.

After I placed my order I sat at a huge oak table to read the newspaper.  Out of the men’s room came a tall older man who addressed me as “young lady.”  I find that very nice.  We chatted about the paper and I offered up the Business section and the Sports section which I had, but he told me he had already read both and was interested in the front page. 

He addressed the waitresses as they greeted him as “Sug” short for Sugar. 

The owner of the restaurant came over to the table to chat with this man and he looked at me and said, “this is the man’s table, what are you doing here?”  I told him I didn’t realize it was reserved and that I should be allowed to stay because it was only my second time in the shop and I was reading the Sports & Business section. 

I just love that type of banter back and forth and done with much respect.

When my to-go lunch was handed to me I wished the man seated at the table with me a nice weekend and he said, “you too Sug”

Love it.

 

One thought on “The Italian Sandwich Shop

Leave a Reply

