The old woman, her dog, and the porch swing


I now drive into a small town to work and from the interstate I wind through the neighborhoods.  Early this morning I drove past a house slowly and an elderly woman was seated on her front porch swing with a cup of coffee and an old dog on her lap.  They  both were just watching cars drive by and the kids walking to school.

I thought how wonderful it would be just to sit out on a porch swing instead of the rush to get to work.  She seemed happy, content, and relaxed.

I thought about her today, when my day was getting busy, or I was seated in a meeting….and I smiled.

 

One thought on “The old woman, her dog, and the porch swing

Leave a Reply

