I Have No Words


This morning I read a message sent to me from a good friend that her daughter had been shot and later died at St. Francis Hospital.  She was seventeen and had just graduated from high school, a year early, so that she could enter college and study what she was passionate about; helping others.  Specifically, helping children.

Waves of emotional fell over me, first, disbelief, then horror.  I picked up the phone and called my friend and the voice at the other end of the line was distraught, raw, choked with pain.  All I could say was, “this is Patrice, I just got your message, and I am so sorry.  I will be here for you no matter what….whatever you need.”   I listened to her squeak out short sentences.  She was exhausted and experiencing something that I cannot imagine.

I could only say was “I’m sorry” and “What can I do?”

Sadly, this is the second call I’ve had to make like this in the past four years.  Both calls generated by guns.  Two good, loving people killed for no reason….taken from us too soon.

I offer up my prayers to Roxanne and her family.  I send positive energy that they will be surrounded by light and that it might ease their pain.

Eternal rest grant unto her, O Lord.
 And let perpetual light shine upon her.
 May she rest in peace.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

