The Most Important Thing


is family.  I sit here on a Sunday evening after cleaning house, and carpets, and putting away  books and clutter and I thought, “I just want a family of my own where we are together and I cook Sunday dinner.”  I think my need is as basic as that.  Sunday dinner.  Saturday movies….Friday night cocktails…..Monday night meatloaf.  I want to sit on a rainy Saturday reading quietly after we’ve spent an hour wandering in a bookstore. 

Family.  Not just infringing upon my sister and her family….because a great deal of the time I feel like the fifth wheel.  But the sheer normalcy is what I miss….or maybe the ability to show and share love doing the most mundane tasks. 

I’ve never thought of family with anyone other than W.  I never imagined sharing my entire life, warts and all, with anyone else. 

I no longer need bells and whistles, I no longer need anything other than a small, comfortable, life.  I’m not sure why the sense of family hits me on a Sunday…maybe because, growing up, Sunday was spent together from the time we went to morning Mass, through the afternoon, helping with Sunday dinner, homework, showers, bed.

My thoughts of my golden years include a porch and a swing or rocking chairs, and sitting there holding hands looking out on what is before us.  When I see old couples in love I believe in true love. 

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.
Love is a force more formidable than any other. It is invisible – it cannot be seen or measured, yet it is powerful enough to transform you in a moment, and offer you more joy than any material possession could.
To you W.  You know how I feel.  There is a pot roast in our future.  That speaks volumes.
 
One thought on “The Most Important Thing

  1. You wrote:
    When I see old couples in love I believe in true love. Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. Love is a force more formidable than any other. It is invisible – it cannot be seen or measured, yet it is powerful enough to transform you in a moment, and offer you more joy than any material possession could.

    Your words touched me…. I promise I will steal at least some of it, but will give you credit.

Leave a Reply

